Reviews

We’ve been letting out our house since June 2013 and lots of our guests have been kind enough to leave us reviews... this is them all, totally unedited!

They add up to a whopping 5 gold stars!

 

“Glorious home - everything we could've wished for and more!” December 2014-January 2015

Came as a mixed group of 16 for a 2 night New Years' Eve celebration. As soon as we got to the front door we knew we were in for a treat! The house was absolutely beautiful, with so much attention to detail and a really homely feel (despite being v spacious!) The fact that it was Christmas made it even more magical with a huge tree in the living room and fairy lights galore!

 

Claudia was extremely helpful and friendly and the information we were given during our stay was so thorough. The walk into Brighton was great (about 30 mins), but a regular 10 min bus was right outside too. The local pub had a good atmosphere and was a minute walk from the house!

 

We were all given gifts of a free mug and stick of rock which was such a lovely touch, and were made to feel very comfortable and at home. We were even supplied with a couple of towels each. We would DEFINITELY recommend - and hope to return again one day!

 

“Fantastic home for Christmas” December 2014

We stayed in this gorgeous family home for our Christmas holidays with extended family.

There were 12 of us ranging from the ages of 9 to grandparents . The house was beautifully decorated for Christmas by Claudia , it really made it feel like a proper family Christmas.

The house really felt like home for the week we were there, it was very comfortable for 12 people, we did quite a bit of cooking and every bit of equipment you could wish for was there.

 

The location is fantastic too, there is a large park nearby which was perfect for walking, kite flying and football games. It is a lovely stroll through to central Brighton which is great for exploring, especially the lanes. The sea front is also wonderful to wander along.

All in all we spent a perfect family Christmas in this house, one that will be treasured by our family.

 

 

Sandra December 14 We had a wonderful in Claudia'a house where we found thoughtful presents (candy and mugs) for us to take away!

We felt like home and would definitely come back!

 

“Wonderful, homely yet large and stunning place to stay in a great location for Brighton” November 2014

Stayed here with a group of 10 thirty-something female friends for a weekend getaway and to explore the sights and attractions of Brighton.

Accommodation: wonderful. Lots of space, plenty of beds, 2 bathrooms, great showers, large kitchen/dining area and cozy lounge area. Facilities were very clean and well maintained and everything required for a weekend stay, including for cooking and entertaining, are provided. By this I mean the kitchen equipment, crockery, glasses, tables, chairs etc - you obviously provide your own food and wine! Excellent and informative manual is provided for using all the facilities in the house and descriptions of everything you should need for your stay in the local area. The family are happy for guests to use all the facilities in the house including washing and drying machine, dishwasher and ovens.

Parking: not as troublesome as we expected at all. Plenty of space in the surrounding roads to park for free and leave the car all weekend.

Location: just a 40 minute walk (downhill) into the very heart of Brighton. The house is on an excellent bus route into town with frequent services. Close to local train stations. Taxi ride only £8 each way into and out of the centre of town even late on a Saturday night.

Brighton: great location for a weekend, or longer, away. Lots to see and do, great shopping, beautiful city, fantastic coastline, great pubs, bars and restaurants, (we highly recommend Lucky Voice karaoke bar for something a little different!) interesting tourist attractions especially The Pavilion with an outdoor ice rink (possibly the ice rink is only available at this time of year).

Overall: highly recommend this property for large groups of friends who want to explore Brighton.

 

“A magical home from home , a truly special treat.” November 2014

I booked this house as a surprise for my partners birthday - a place to stay with close friends.

It was perfect! Thiis is a very special place - filled with creativity and character. It was exceptionally clean and well organised and has everything you could possibly need to hand .

 

“Beautiful, arty house” October 2014

A group of us recently stayed in this beautiful house. The owner is an artist and her artwork and creativity are everywhere. The attention to detail was meticulous, from bedding, towels and toiletries to souvenir mugs and sticks of rock left out for everyone to take home.

Even though it is a family home, we were not made to feel that we had to be so careful that we couldn't relax and as the whole house was so gorgeous it was easy to take care of it. Also the place was spotless.

The location was perfect - a half an hour stroll into central Brighton or 10 mins in a taxi.

I would highly recommend this place for a gathering of friends or family - particularly if you want to feel as though you are part of Brighton's arty set, even if its only for a few days!

 

“Wonderful in Every Way!” October 2014

From the minute I arrived, I felt at home in this truly exceptional house. The large open plan kitchen/diner (I'm sure the table is bigger than the one in the photos!) and homely feel made it the perfect place for us 10 girls to sit and eat, drink and reminisce! The whole house was immaculate even though it is clearly a family home (I don't know how she does it!). The information given covered every eventuality and nothing was left for us to work out with all rooms well equipped. The beds were very comfortable and all other facilities were perfect for our needs. Lovely little courtyard style patio area which is private and a great place to sit and enjoy the peace before heading off into the city.

 

“Welcoming” October 2014

It was warm, spacious and delightful, the rooms were a good size and although it was really clean you didn't feel uncomfortable to relax

The extra touch with the Brighton theme house warming gift is lovely

 

“PERFECTLY PERFECT in very way” October 2014

Our stay was absolutely fabulous. We were a group of 11 and every single person wanted the house to be their own . The house is beautifully decorated with colour and personality, thought and practicality - it's simply got everything covered. A lot of the artwork is produced by the owner Claudia and it is beautiful. There are so many interesting things to look at and we ended up in a debate on how much effort must go into ensuring the house is as spotless as it was - hats off to you Claudia!!!!! We simply couldn't imagine how much time you must spend catering to every single detail. There were some instructions to follow regarding taking good care of the house, but all are very practical and functional requests from Claudia, and TOTALLY in order. Claudia was the perfect host - giving us a warm reception, making us aware of what we needed to know, then exiting without ceremony. I was a little concerned initially as there is only one bath room and one shower room and a separate toilet (2 toilets in total) but it was NO issue at all with 11 women getting ready morning and night. There is so much space, the kitchen and dining area are to die for and the kitchen is equip with everything you could possibly need.

All in All a perfect weekend, wonderful memories and luxury comfort to boot!!!!

Thank you Claudia

P.S - I forgot to mention how very at home and comfortable we all felt without exception.

 

“Beautiful home, made so welcome by home owner and had the best time staying there” October 2014

Right from the moment I booked this house the owner Claudia was so helpful and informative, she was there to welcome us and made us feel so welcome. The house itself is beautiful and has everything you need, the location is good too just a short taxi ride or bus to Central Brighton. There was 12 of us celebrating my 40th and each and every one of us had a fab time and enjoyed spending time in the house as we had everything we needed there. I would highly recommend this rental and we will definitely go back go again.

 

David September 14 We had a fantastic weekend in this beautiful house in Brighton. Claudia was an excellent host and had thought of everything in advance. There was clear guidance on how to use the house and more than enough towels and so on for all our guests. The listing description and photos were very accurate.

The house is beautifully decorated and feels livedd-in home with loads of character and charm. It was perfect for our weekend break with friends.

The neighbourhood was great. There was a lovely coffee shop right around the corner and a Sainsbury's down the road. Brighton city centre was walking distance via Preston park too.

All in all, we had a wonderful time and I would highly recommend this beautiful house as a place to stay.

 

“Perfect!” September 2014

I booked this beautiful house for a weekend stay for me and a group of friends nada we could not have asked for better.

Claudia (the owner) was really helpful with our booking, especially when things changed a couple of weeks before our holiday! We all felt that it was real value for money and we couldn't have found a nicer, cleaner, happier place to stay for the weekend.

On arriving at the house to pick up the keys we were delighted to find Claudia had left us the essentials for our stay. There was everything we needed from beading and towels, plenty of crockery, a large dining room table to sit around and plenty of room for all of us to stay. All of the rooms were beautifully decorated, comfortable and spacious. The house is really pretty with some amazing art work on the walls and even a statue in the lounge!

In a nut shell, I could go on and on but if you are not sure, they just go for it, you will not be disappointed, if I could, I would go and stay in this house every weekend with friends!

 

"A good choice of house for a family and friends get together" Aug 14

Every year we try to get various friends and family together just for the week. This year we chose Brighton and were looking for somewhere we could have access to activities or just chill out, in equal measure. This house was just right. Although it was out of town we could park our car outside and tended to walk around the corner and catch the bus into town to avoid the nightmare of trying to park in town. We appreciated having a separate utility room and a fully equip kitchen as we wanted to cater for ourselves and after a busy day out and about we could share a home cooked meal and relax with a glass of wine. As the weather was nice we used the seating area in the garden or the day bed in the garden room to lounge around. The house is full of interesting artifacts, art works, books and other family possessions that made us feel at home. There are plenty of possible outings from here if Brighton gets too intense. We went to the art centre on the sea front at Bexhill on sea, to Charleston house (with links to the Bloomsbury set) and Great Dixter (for the gardeners among us).

 

Camilla July 14 We had a wonderful weekend in Claudia's beautiful home. There were 16 of us and there was plenty of space, especially on sunny days where you can use the lovely garden. We were there for a celebration and Claudia's home is so beautifully and thoughtfully decorated that it really made it feel special. Claudia was lovely to deal with, I would highly recommend this house!

"Great host, fab house, perfect stay!" July 14

Booking this lovely house was easy, Claudia responded quickly and was really helpful with our queries. arked very easily outside the house when we arrived, parking was free which was an added bonus! We were very excited when we saw the house, it exceeded our expectations - even lovelier than the pictures! It was clean, tidy and beautifully decorated with fairy lights and bunting. Our whole group absolutely loved the house and spent most of the time congregated in the large kitchen/diner. The house is perfectly situated, about 30 minutes walk from central Brighton, it also has local convenience shops a stones throw away. We were lucky to have lovely weather on our stay so we were able to enjoy the outside decking area. After our stay, Claudia got in touch to check everything was to our satisfaction - we wouldn't hesitate to stay or recommend. Thank you Claudia for letting us stay in your beautiful home.

 

Estelle June 14 Thank you to Claudia and her family for letting us stay in their amazing home. The house is perfect for large groups and only a short taxi ride away from the station and town centre. We stayed for a weekend in June '14 and had a fantastic time. The house was very clean and tidy, comfortable, private and has a lovely garden. Claudia was very welcoming and made the whole booking process very easy. I would definitely recommend this beautiful home.

Caro June 14 I celebrated my 30th birthday with 15 people in Claudia's house. The house is even nicer than on the pictures and Claudia is just an amazing host. Everything was perfect (including the weather). If you have a chance, make use of the BBQ - the little garden and the deck are great for that.

If you don't have a car you should try to order food as the bigger supermarkets are relatively far away. We walked down the the huge sainsbury's and took a cab back (6 pounds) which was fine though.

"Fantastic house for a group celebration" June 14

This house is beautiful and the owners could not have done more to make sure we had an enjoyable stay. Claudia was there to answer any question we had before our stay and helped with recommendations for restaurants and bars in the area. The house is really spacious and well organised so there is plenty of room for the maximum number of guests. The location is brilliant and it is in a quiet residential road but is only a 5 minute taxi into the centre of Brighton. I would definiately rebook this house again. Thank you for such a lovely stay.

 

"An ideal house to host a large group holiday" May 14

Finding accommodation for a group of 15 girls for a weekend in Brighton was a really difficult task, but I'm so glad we came across Claudia's beautiful and spacious home. The place is fully equipped to cater for a large group, so at no point were we squeezed in or eating dinner sat on the floor or furiously washing mugs so more tea could be drunk. The kitchen is incredible, and sustained a heavy cooking and baking schedule one evening, the rooms are bright and cheery and very comfortable, and having the garden and outdoor space is just the icing on the cake. Claudia was a communicative, helpful and generous host, and made the whole process so easy in terms of organisation, in the lead up to the stay, on arrival, and after we left. A definite recommendation to anyone who needs a place for a large group heading to Brighton for a chilled, chatty holiday - a real home away from home!

 

"An amazing house to stay at- it made our trip perfect!" May 14

Claudia was an incredible host, she answered all my questions really quickly and went out of her way to help make my stay in Brighton perfect, even helping me source a life drawing teacher and model!

The house itself was gorgeous, all my friends asked if i had spent hours decorating and i had to admit that this was just how the house came- the added detail in the decorations and appearance really added to the charm of it and we did not want to leave at the end of our stay! It was also very comfortable for us all and had all the luxuries you need to make your stay great! It was also in a great location and we had a lovely walk into town. There were some good useful shops very nearby too and parking on the road near the house was no problem.

 

"Magnificent House. Completely faultless." May 14

14 of us stayed for two nights over the May bank holiday weekend and were overwhelmed by this unique, homely, beautiful, loved and lived in house.

Everyone wanted to move in!

Each room is exquisite in it's eclectic decor, so if you're a bunch who appreciate such details, book this house.

Large kitchen accommodates to the max, comfortable lounge, fabulous decking in garden (it doesn't matter at all that garden is not that big)

Two shower rooms and 14 girls could sound nightmarish, but it really wasn't an issue. There is an additional toilet which makes all the difference.

I can't stress enough how good this house is. And talk about value for money. Everyone in the party was thrilled with this choice of accommodation.

Thank you very much for having us!

 

Sonya April 14 Claudia and her family have a lovely home, clean. comfortable and well located. Claudia herself is very communicative, helpful and friendly. I had the whole house for 2 days with colleagues and we were absolutely thrilled with the quality of the house and how convenient it made our whole trip. I would not hesitate to recommend that you stay in her home.

 

“Excellent excellent excellent!!! April 14

I recently booked Claudia's Guest House for a large group of ladies for my sisters hen party.... and all I can say is.... AMAZING!! It definitely did not disappoint!

Claudia was there to meet me when I arrived and showed me around her (exquisite) home. She even left little treats in the fridge for us, crumpets for the next morning and mugs for everyone to keep! SO sweet! The house easily accommodated 15 of us with room for another if needed. Even the feel of the house is amazing! There's pretty bunting and fairy lights everywhere and the bright colours and artwork throughout add to the 'jolly party' feel of it. There's more than enough plates, glasses etc for large parties and I can not tell you how 'at home' we all felt. There's wi-fi throughout the whole house and extra bedding and towels if needed. It was clean and neat and so so welcoming. Everything is accommodated for in this house. I can not think of one single bad thing to say about it!

Location wise it's brilliant. If you're wanting to visit Brighton it only took about 10 minutes in a taxi to get to Brighton Pier, and on the same road as the house are a few little shops, cafe's and a nearby park.

Right from the moment I started emailing Claudia I had a good feeling. She was very thorough and clear in her emails, and very prompt at replying to any questions I had. I can not recommend this property enough!! It's such a beautiful home and to be honest I'm very jealous that it's not mine. I will definitely be returning sometime to visit, hopefully very soon!

Thank you so much for sharing your home with us Claudia!! It was so nice to have somewhere so beautiful and pleasant to stay, we LOVED it!!!.... xxxxxxx

 

"Beautiful quirky house - felt very at home" April 14

I stayed in the house with a large group for my husband's 30th birthday and Claudia was incredibly helpful in the lead up to our visit.

Not only was the house completely charming but the quirky style really added something to our stay.

It was perfectly set up for us to have a big group dinner and the cooking facilities were excellent.

Before booking the house I did search around and found this house was the most reasonably priced as well as being far more comfortable than normal holiday lettings.

We liked the house (and Brighton) so much, we are looking to move to the city in the very near future.

Thanks for a lovely weekend.

 

Patrick March 14 You will not be disappointed... We have just returned from a great weekend catch up with friends at Claudia's house in Brighton. Everything went smoothly and we were really impressed with the house which is beautifully presented and very clean. The large kitchen/diner is ideal for dinner with friends. Claudia is very friendly and a pleasure to deal with... the check-in/out was very smooth and the show around on arrival very useful. After we left we realised that a few items had been left behind which Claudia returned to us by post without hesitation - a great extra touch. We will definitely consider staying here again.

 

"Perfect for our girlie getaway and would suit families perfectly too." March 14

What a beautiful house! Full of character, very clean and super welcoming, Claudia was very accommodating and I wouldn't hesitate recommending this as a place to stay. A little out of Brighton it was great that there was free parking as it is cheaper parking for free and getting taxis into town. The house instructions are clear and reasonable and the house itself is a talking point. Quirky and spacious our whole group loved it. Thank you Claudia for being so welcoming and for making our stay in Brighton memorable.

 

"Amazing house in Brighton!" February 14

I booked this beautiful house for myself, my partner and his large group of friends to celebrate his 30th birthday. We had a wonderful stay. The house is huge, very easy to accommodate a large group, and it's beautifully decorated, with everything you could possible need. We even had the sunshine streaming through the windows every morning! Great location for access to the city, but also slightly removed so it's very peaceful. I wish we could go back in Summer to make use of the deck at the back of the house....

Claudia was extremely friendly and very helpful with any extra requirements I had during our stay. Highly recommended!

 

"Lovely Home for a Large group of friends" January 14

I stayed here with my friends for new year eve and it was perfect for what we wanted, a relaxing place to cook and relax. The kitchen and dining area is beautiful with all the equipment you need. All the bedrooms are clean tidy and spacious. The hosts were wonderful and extremely helpful.

IT was a half an hour walk to the pier or a cheap taxi £12 for a large taxi for 8 people and about £7.00 for a smaller taxi.

I am hoping to book there again soon!

 

"A real family treat" December 13

Claudia and Derek took great pains to prepare their home for our visit over the very busy Christmas 2013 period. The house has many delightful and unique artistic features and is in an ideal location being within easy access of Brighton by car or public transport. In spite of the appalling weather we were warm and comfortable throughout our stay.

 

"Fantastic family home!" December 13

This house is a large, lovely family home! Claudia was extremely helpful and friendly in helping us arrange the stay.

My group of friends and I stayed in the house for a weekend and found it to be perfect for our Christmas weekend. The house is large enough to easily accomodate a large group, is beautifully kept and presented, and is perfectly situated for staying in, cooking and playing games, or going out in Brighton.

We would recommend this house to anyone!

 

"Great house for a family party" October 13

We rented this house for a family birthday party with a group of 13 people with ages ranging from 5 to 88 and we all had a great time. The house is large and spacious, more so than you might expect from the pictures, and is cheerful, full of colour and imaginatively decorated. It is Claudia's family home, so we had the use of her family's toys and games, including Lego, training weights and acoustic guitars, and the children had fun playing hide and seek up and down the stairs. A lovely big kitchen for family meals, and a comfortable lounge with TV. Claudia has been friendly and helpful. I would certainly come back again if we had another large group holiday. [Note to anyone reading this review - the 88 year old does not have mobility problems. There are a lot of stairs in this house and it wouldn't suit anyone who has difficulty with mobility]

 

Melanie August 13 We had a really fabulous time at Claudia's gorgeous Brighton house. A group of 9 of us met up for a gathering in Brighton, to celebrate the 10 years since we all met at Sussex University. It was a special weekend for us, and staying in this house made it even more special. Claudia was lovely to interact with by email, her friend Jess welcomed us on check-in and explained everything there was to know (though everything was already covered in Claudia's exhaustive notes, it was good to be walked through the house and shown where everything was). The house is beautiful, comfy and welcoming. Everything we needed was there and more. It was a perfect setting to reminisce about our student memories, chat together, cook meals and share a good time. I'd recommend the house to anyone!

 

Belton August 13 Thank you Claudia for an amazing experience. My birthday was alot of fun, and the house was exceptional. The check-in process was easy, the house was spacious and amazing. We were provided with tea, coffee and crumpets in the fridge for our use, and upon arrival we had a grill out on the patio. Would recommend and would love to return again another time. Thanks for the quick replies and being such gracious hosts.

 

Clare July 13 We had the most fabulous weekend in Brighton. The house was perfect for our requirements with everything we could wish for and more. There were a dozen of us sharing. It was a very welcoming homely colourful house in which we felt immediately at home in. Claudia was delightful and showed us around her beautiful home allowing us to use her own belongings if we needed to. The house is situated very near the Town centre and we had a great evening at the Brighton Cookery School where we cooked our own food which was served to us in a private dining room with as much wine as we wanted. We also looked around the Pavilion in all its splendour. We would all love to come back to see more of the town and stay in this very well appointed home. We would like to thank Claudia for allowing us to stay in her lovely home.

 

Nina July 13 We spent a wonderful weekend at Claudia's house in Preston Drive - it was even better than the photos promised - stripped wooden floors, a beautifully artistic interior, and plenty of space for the whole party inside and out. We enjoyed a barbecue on the lawn and supper around the farmhouse dining table, took walks into town - the lanes and the beach, and found the house an ideal spot for access to Brighton while allowing you to escape the hustle and bustle. We would very highly recommend it!

 

Catherine July 13 I booked Claudias home for my partner and his friends as they visited Brighton for a fishing trip. They had a fabulous time, Claudia was very welcoming, the home was beautiful and an ideal location. The guys were thrilled with their stay and would reccommend such a lovely home. Thank you for all your help Claudia :)

 

Carly June 13 The location of this property was perfect. Lovely views from this hilly area and its good to be able to have on street free parking, as parking expenses in the town are horrendous! The house is just absolutely beautiful and catered for all 11 of us, the decor was wonderful and the house is nice and homely. The host was wonderful and I could not have asked for more off her, she provided support throughout our stay. If I was to stay in Brighton again with a group of people there is no doubt where I would want to stay. The best weekend and the best home I've stayed in by far! And this was mainly down to the host so well done for your hospitality!

 

Family House in Central Brighton